Home News Election Commission Delists 255 Parties, 12 From Telangana, Andhra Pradesh

Election Commission Delists 255 Parties, 12 From Telangana, Andhra Pradesh


The Election Commission (EC) has done well to delist 200-odd political parties that have not contested any elections since 2005. Some parties are floated mainly to launder money . They can be used both to avoid tax -make a contribution by cheque, the amount being tax-deductible for the donor and receive it back in cash, political parties not being amenable to scrutiny as to how precisely they spent their money -and to convert black money into white -give a party money in cash, it will pay you by cheque for some fictitious service.

There are 1,786 registered, unrecognised parties now, besides seven national political parties and 58 state parties. Uttar Pradesh, Delhi and Tamil Nadu house the bulk. Only a quarter of the registered parties participated in the 2009 and 2014 general elections. So, the ca se for delisting parties that exist merely on paper and withdrawing their income tax exemptions is compelling. However, delisting alone will not halt the practice of all political parties mopping up huge amounts of poll funds through unaccounted contributions that, in turn, drives businesses to generate black money . Fund mobilisation and spending of political parties must be made transparent. Registered parties are supposed to file their returns along with their audited accounts, but compliance to tax laws alone will not suffice. Every political party must mandatorily reveal its spending and sources of financing those expenses.

Declaring their monthly expenses and showing their sources of income -disaggregated and combined is the way to go.Other political parties and watchdog bodies must be free to challenge the figure -from the local to the national level. The EC must do the last leg of scrutiny to finalise the spending, and quiz political parties for their source of finance.

Courtesy: Times of India

The delisted parties in Telangana

Andhra Nadu Party  10 – 5 -14/1, Masab Tank,  Hyderabad-500028.

Anna Telugu Desam Party, 4-1-825/8,9 and 10, NTR Estates, Abids, Hyderabad-500001.

Bahujan Republican Party, H.No.1 – 7 -1046/18, SRT Quarters-18, Azamabad, Ramnagar, Hyderabad-500020.

Bharatiya Seva Dal,  3-1-236/239/1, First Floor, Somasunderam Street, Secunderabad-500003.

Jai Telangana Party, H.No.34/9, SBH Colony,  Shrinagar,Hyderabad -500073.

Mudiraj Rashtriya Samithi, Mudiraj Bhavanam, H. No.6 -7-537/1, New Boignda, Secunderabad-500003.

National Citizens Party, Flat no. 202, Sri Rama Nivas,Behind Maruti Towers, Kuakatpally,Hyderabad-500 072.

NTR Telugu Desam Party  (Lakshmi Parvathi),  Road No. 13, Banjara Hills, Hyderabad-500034.

Telangana Congress Party, Flat No.4, Block-18, MIG Phase-II, Bagh Lingampally, Hyderabad.

Telangana Praja Party, ‘Anantha Nilayam’, Door No.14 -9-519, Chudi Bazar Dargah, Hyderabad-500 012.

Satyayug Party, Flat No.203, Bldg. No.6 -4-323/A, Vivek Vanshi Residency, Mekala Mandi Road, Bholakpur, Secunderabad-500080.

In Andhra Pradesh

All India Sadguna Party, Kalkiri Indlu Village, RKVB Pet Post,  Karvet Nagar Mandal, Pin -517582, Chittoor District, Andhra Pradesh.

For complete delisted information click below link:



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here