Home English Articles Union Government announces eminent women in various fields of Science & Technology

Union Government announces eminent women in various fields of Science & Technology


On the occasion of National Science Day, Government has announced 11 chairs in the name of eminent Indian women scientists in various fields to inspire, encourage, empower women and give due recognition to young women researchers excelling in various fields.

Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi has announced several schemes for Women’s Empowerment and the proposal is in line with theme for this year’s National Science Day – ‘Women in Science’.

The 11 Chairs have been instituted in various areas of research including Agriculture, Biotechnology, Immunology, Phytomedicine, Biochemistry, Medicine, Social Sciences, Earth Science & Meteorology, Engineering, Mathematics, and Physics & Fundamental Research.

One of the chairs constituted is under the name of the noted anthropologist Dr IrawatiKarve.

Details are as following:

SNChair to be instituted in the name ofFields with which the Scientist was associated
1Dr. Archana Sharma (1932-2008) Renowned cytogenetistAgriculture and Allied Research
2Dr. Janaki Ammal (1897-1984) The Pioneering BotanistBiotechnology
3Dr. Darshan Ranganathan(1941-2001) Organic ChemistImmunology
4Dr. Ashima Chatterjee (1917-2006) Chemist Par ExcellenceOrganic Chemistry, Phytomedicine
5Dr. KadambiniGanguly(1861-1923) A doctor who broke the muthMedicine
6Dr IrawatiKarve (1905-1970) Studying HumansAnthropology
7Dr. Anna Mani (1918-2001) Pioneer Indian MeterologistMeteorology
8Dr. Rajeshwari Chatterjee (1922-2010) First Woman engineer from the State of KarnatakaEngineering
9Dr. Raman Parimala (b.1948) Mathematician (Bhatnagar Award, 1987)Mathematics
10Bibhachowdhuri (1913-1991)Physics
11Kamal Ranadive (8 November 1917-2001) (medicine)Biomedical Research

Source: Organiser


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here